What are 'Units' and how to use them in UpRaise?

 

This feature is still in Beta & must be tested out first on a test instance before promoting to the production Jira.

Use Cases

  • If the organization is fairly large & has independent business entities. 

  • If an organization has offices located across multiple geographies & they want to track their OKRs completely independent of each other.

Using the feature

As an UpRaise admin or super-admin navigate to the company directory screen & then teams tab. Notice checkbox 'Support multiple units'. This will be turned off by default & will be flagged as a 'Beta' feature.

 

Turning it on, a pop-up appears to confirm your intent. Make sure that you've tested out this feature first on a test instance before promoting to production Jira.

 

 

On the 'Next' step, you are asked to move all of the existing teams & OKRs to a 'Unit'. While it is possible to 'Skip' this step, we would recommend use of 'Move' option. 

Important to note that irrespective of the choice you made, it won't be possible to modify 'Unit' of these existing OKRs at a later stage. 'Unit' of existing teams can be modified based on the condition that there are no team objectives for that team in the given 'Unit'.



On 'Skip' or 'Move', the feature will be turned on & an additional link to 'Manage units' will appear. Keep in mind that moving existing teams & OKRs to a 'Unit' may take some time (about 30 sec to 4 minutes, based on the size of the data). In the meanwhile, teams & OKRs shouldn't be created.

From the 'Manage Units' link, you can add/edit/rename/delete the units.

 

Once all the units are added here, you can now move onto creation of teams within these units. 

  • One team can be associated with only one unit.

  • If a team is being moved from one unit to another, system will not allow it. We recommend either deleting the team from the current unit (if there is no data associated with it) or marking it as inactive (to ensure existing data remains in the system).

  • Cross unit children/parents linkage of teams will not be allowed.

  • Ability to manage associated unit with a team will be available only from the first layer of nodes in the ‘team tree’ view. If a team is moved from Unit X to Unit Y, all children teams will automatically be moved to unit Y. 

    • If there are any team objectives for even any of those teams, it won't be possible to move the top level team.

Impact on OKRs

  • Once the feature to 'support multiple units' is switched on, all objectives will be associated with one of the units in the system.

    • While creating the objective, a new parameter 'Unit' will be visible to users who are associated with more than one 'Units'. For users who belong to only one 'Unit', that unit will be automatically applied for the objectives they create.

    • Super admins will be able to create objectives for any of the units. Even if they do not belong to multiple units.

    • Unit of the objective will also be visible on the objective details page. 

    • Do note that, it won't be possible to move an objective from one unit to the other.

  • Additionally, OKR visibility can have further extension on existing options.

    • If the checkbox under 'Manage units' ('Allow restricted visibility OKRs for units') is checked, an additional option will be available for controlling OKR visibility.

    • 'All users' will make that objective visible to users across entire UpRaise company directory whereas 'All users in the unit' will restrict visibility to all those users who belong to the unit for which objective is being created.

    •